Nuclear 2020: Roadmap to Net Zero, the industry’s leading annual nuclear conference, will take place on Thursday 3 December as a virtual event and exhibition.

Now in its 20th year, the conference will bring together speakers from across all parts of the nuclear industry to update and discuss key developments in decommissioning, nuclear new build, export opportunities, skills and much more.

Nuclear 2020 will be free for delegates to attend. All participants will have access to:

  • Plenary Sessions with leading speakers from across the energy sector, including the Minister for Business and Industry
  • Plenary sessions on nuclear’s role in our Net Zero Future
  • Updates on the resilience of the nuclear industry during COVID-19
  • Insights on the latest world-class innovations in the UK nuclear industry, from decommissioning to small modular reactors and fusion technology
  • Digital platforms for one-to-one networking
  • Q&A with speakers through our chat function
  • Exhibitions showcasing business opportunities across the nuclear sector

For further information on the programme contact georgina.hines@niauk.org and for all other enquiries veronica.lekavicius@niauk.org.




Please note agenda timings are subject to change.

Agenda — full schedule

December 3rd, 08:45 - 16:30

Conference opens

Welcome, Introduction and Conference Overview

Sue Nelson — Conference Host,

Chair’s Welcome

Tim Stone CBE — Chairman, Nuclear Industry Association

Beyond Nuclear: Getting to Net Zero

Luke Clark — Director of Strategic Communications, Renewables UK

Guy Newey — Director of Strategy, Energy Systems Catapult

Craig Dyke — Head of Strategy and Regulation, National Grid ESO

‘40 by 50’ – The Nuclear Roadmap

Tom Greatrex — Chief Executive, Nuclear Industry Association

The 2050 Workforce

Corhyn Parr — Chair, Nuclear Skills Strategy Group

The value of science in public life

Professor Jim Al-Khalili OBE — Keynote speaker,

Coffee and Networking

Delivering Hinkley Point C and Sizewell C

Stuart Crooks CBE — Managing Director of Hinkley Point C, EDF Energy

Julia Pyke — Director of Financing for Sizewell C, EDF Energy

Bradwell B: What’s next?

Rob Davies — Chief Operating Officer, CGN UK

Horizon update

Duncan Hawthorne — CEO, Horizon Nuclear Power


UK SMR: The story so far

Tom Samson — Interim CEO, UK SMR Consortium

What next for the AMR Competition winners?

Steve Threlfall — General Manager, U-Battery

Kenneth Canavan — Chief Technology Officer, Vice President, Global Technology Office, Westinghouse

In conversation with…

Professor Ian Chapman — CEO, UK Atomic Energy Authority

Innovative thinking in decommissioning

Gwen Parry-Jones OBE — CEO, Magnox Ltd

Martin Chown — Chief Executive Officer, Sellafield

Steve Hardy — NDA

Coffee and networking

Industry resilience: Covid-19 and beyond

Mark Foy — Chief Nuclear Inspector (CNI), United Kingdom’s Office for Nuclear Regulation

Richard Green — Director of Corporate Centre, NDA

Dawn James — Vice President, Jacobs

Matt Sykes — Managing Director, EDF

A nuclear future

Chaired by Fiona Rayment

Caroline Longman — Government Account Director, National Nuclear Laboratory

Professor Robin Grimes — Professor of Materials Physics, Imperial College London, and Fellow, Royal Society

Conference Close

Sponsor & Virtual Exhibitors

For further information about Sponsorship and Exhibition packages, please click here.

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors



Please check back for registration information.